Inspiration Thursdays

8 09 2011

I’ve been trying to think of ways to be more intentional with this blog. I want it to encompass all of me, not just my weight loss and health efforts. Some of you may know that I have a crafty side, and love a good DIY project, scrapping session, making bows, etc etc etc. One of the crafty blogs I follow is Gussy Sews. I recently discovered her Inspiration Workshop! and want to dedicate each Thursday to a blog about the prompt of the week. I think it will be fun to take the prompt, and show a little more of myself on this blog, as well as tie it to my health and wellness journey. 🙂

This weeks prompt is Inspiring Books. I am an avid reader, mostly for pleasure. I enjoy all kinds of books, and usually read before bed, or to relax during the day. My favorite place to read is at the beach. It is so nice to lay out with an enthralling book with the sounds of the ocean in the background…

One of the most inspiring books I have read is Rules of the Red Rubber Ball by Kevin Carroll.

About two years ago I heard Kevin speak, and he is one of the most engaging, dynamic speakers I’ve been honored to hear. His book is easy to read, and very inspiring. My favorite quote from the book is “Commit to your passion and adversity won’t derail you” (Carroll, Kevin. Rules of the Red Rubber Ball: Find and Sustain Your Life’s Work. [New York]: ESPN, 2004. Print.)

You often hear the question, “If money wasn’t an issue, what would your dream job be?” And I bet each of us could answer that question in a heartbeat. We get so wrapped up in our day to day lives that we often lose site of what we are most passionate about. We get stuck in a rut, go about our routines, and all too often resist change, even changes we want.

I know for me, the changes I am trying to make in my life revolve around health and wellness. Am I passionate about it? Not so much… But the results and the things I’ll be able to do when I reach my goals ARE what I’m passionate about, so in turn, I need to re-direct my passion, so to speak in order to achieve those goals.

What are you passionate about? What’s keeping you from it? What can you do to change that?

Actions

Information

4 responses

16 09 2011
Dacia

I hope that you can find something now on your journey to health and wellness to be passionate about. It’s so much easier if you are doing what you love. For me, I used to always say- “I’ll be able to do that when I am skinny” but if I had that mindset now i would still be where I was in February. Our Weight should not keep us from trying new things. Sorry, I didn’t mean to go off on a tangent. I just have a lot to say about this topic 😉 All I can say is my life changed when I realized I could do more than I ever imagined. I just had to get past those voices in my head telling me I was too fat to do anything.

9 09 2011
Simply Sidney

Themed days are good, a couple of the bloggers I read have some. I’m so new to this blogging thing, not sure if I have any ideas. Hey, even my normal post titles are just the date- a sign I’m posting just what’s on my mind that day. I should think about this though, I’ll let you know

9 09 2011
Simply Sidney

Really great post. I’m going to be looking forward to this new pattern in your blogging!!! “Commit to your passion and adversity won’t derail you,” wow, just wow, I’m not sure if I forgot that or never really knew it. I love my life, but there is so much more to me that what I’ve been living. I’m working towards a goal now that will be a huge step in the right direction and this post is what I really needed now to remind me why I’m doing it. Your last 3 questions hit me like a ton of bricks. I so often shy away from a challenge and never really know if I could have done it, well this year all that is changing…I’ve commit to my passion…

9 09 2011
amysjourneytohealth

Awww Thank you! It was my first attempt at joining a “linky party” and it was fun, though I’m still learning the ins and outs. It was interesting to have to come up with a blog related to a specific theme, rather than just saying what was on my mind. I kinda like it! I’m looking forward to next weeks post already! And I’m trying to come up with more ideas for one or two “themed” days a week. If you have any ideas let me kwow. 😉

Leave a Reply

